Two past leaders at Texas A&M University-Kingsville were honored with the Tejano Heritage Award.

Former Dean of Students Frank Ureno and former TAMUK President Rumoldo Juarez helped create the Tejano Heritage Awards Banquet and Symposium 10 years ago. The program is aimed at honoring the rich cultural legacy of Tejanos, original indigenous residents of Texas even before becoming a part of the United States.

Tejanos were the first European settlers of Texas who arrived along the Gulf Coast back in the 1500s.

19 University alumni have been given the Tejano award, including our own Rudy Trevino.