Newly Found Asteroid to Pass Close to Earth Sunday - KiiiTV.com South Texas, Corpus Christi, Coastal Bend

Newly Found Asteroid to Pass Close to Earth Sunday

Posted: Updated:
(CNN) - A newly discovered asteroid will pass "very close" to Earth on Sunday, NASA says.

The space rock is 60 feet (20 meters) in size. It's expected to fly over New Zealand about 2:18 p.m. EDT (11:18 a.m. PDT / 18:18 UTC.)

It won't hit Earth or any of the thousands of satellites orbiting the planet, NASA says. It will give astronomers and scientists a chance to study it.

The asteroid won't be visible the naked eye, but amateur astronomers should be able to see it with telescopes.

The asteroid, called 2014 RC, was discovered August 31 by the Catalina Sky Survey near Tucson, Arizona.