The president of Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi announced the coming of a new School of Arts, Media and Communication at a press conference Tuesday.

It is part of the College of Liberal Arts, and will consist of four departments: art, communication & media, music, and theatre & dance.

"We pledge to make an even larger contribution to this area's distinctive arts scene, and provide quality programs in arts, media and communication that apply 21st century technology," TAMUCC President Flavius Killebrew said.