Two teachers were selected Tuesday at the Corpus Christi Independent School District Headquarters for the honor of Teacher of the Year.

The categories included elementary and secondary teacher of the year. The candidates were selected from 56 campuses, and the field was narrowed down to six finalists.

The two winners were Delores Tapia, a fifth-grade teacher at Woodlawn Elementary, and Usha Gurumurthy, an English teacher at Ray High School.

Kiii News Reporter Bill Churchwell went Live from the CCISD headquarters with the details.